Whynter IC-2L Stainless Steel WHYNTER SNO Ice Cream Maker - 2 quarts

- Item #: BCI569495
$250.00
Originally $312.50, You Save 20%
Stainless Steel
Free Shipping!
0 In Stock
Backordered
Estimated available date: 09/29/2014

Discontinued

Please select a finish

Questions about Whynter IC-2L?

Contact us for advice or more details. Our product specialists are here to help.

Configure your Whynter IC-2L WHYNTER SNO Ice Cream Maker - 2 quarts

  • Extended Protection Plan more info ►

    Select whether or not you would like to purchase an extended protection plan.
    • Please Select One
    • View Product Detail
    • View Product Detail
    • View Product Detail
    • View Product Detail

Discontinued

Please select a finish

$250.00

Whynter IC-2L Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from solid product this machine makes very good sorbets. the texture and consistency are nice and the fact that the machine can be used right away without freezing the inner chamber is a definitely plus. My only real complaint is the instruction manual. It's terrible with fuzzy grainy photos and really incomplete instructions that are vague. I had a lot of small questions regarding usage that i just had to figure out myself. For example, the first time I used it i closed the machine and started it but the beater wasn't turning. I wasn't sure if it was cooling the chamber and this was normal or it it was supposed to turn right away. By the time I figured out that the top wasn't closed correctly, the mixture had frozen around the walls and the beater. I had to turn off the machine and thaw out the mixture and start again. Small things like this are annoying because most manuals give you too much information and this one was so poorly worded.
Date published: 2011-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! I purchased this unit in June and have been enjoying the ice cream it makes for a little more than four months. When it arrived the clear plastic cover had a small crack that did not hinder me from putting it into immediate operation. I went ahead and called Whynter (the manufacturer) and they immediately sent me a replacement cover, no questions asked! The machine has performed consistently well and has been used 2-3 times a week since purchased. It has already paid for itself in savings as we use it to make organic ice cream which is 6-8 dollars a quart. The ingredients to make it are only about 2 dollars. I had never heard of a counter top ice cream machine before this one and had also never heard of Whynter; I am sold on both now!
Date published: 2011-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fun! My 92 year old Dad lives with me. Our family has always made homemade ice cream at get-togethers and he LOVES it, but at home, dealing with a large batch, the salt and ice and having to make it outside or in the garage, because of the noise wasn't worth the trouble. I tried a small freezable container machine, but the consistency was uneven - hard around the perimeter and soft in the center. The Whynter Sno is fabulous! It takes longer to freeze (about and hour), but it's easy, relatively quiet and the consistency is always even. It's easy to clean and I disagree with a couple of reviews I read - the chute handles any reasonable sized additives like nuts or chocolate chips (you have to add them slowly, but it's best not to dump them in all at once, for even distribution, anyway). Also, unlike the freezable container, the Whynter Sno allows you to make consecutive batches, which I like to do while the condenser is cold. Definitely worth the investment.
Date published: 2012-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow This is a great machine. We have made a variety of ice cream dishes, gelato and many different sorbets. It is easy and fun to prepare these delicious treats. The recipes available from the company are interesting and complete!
Date published: 2010-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Negatives overshadowed by positives After using it a lot all summer, I got to know this machine quite well. Smaller batches work better, especially if you like to mix in items at the end like toffee pieces, the new tiny peanut butter cups, things like that. The opening to add in items really only works well for very small bits, anything bigger than your fingernail will not make it through the curved part of the shoot. The machine is noisy, and on mine, I can not hear the beeping that the timer is done above the noise. How useless is that? You also need to be very careful that everything is seated properly before hitting start, or it will not churn. But you can't beat the convenience of putting together your ingredients, hitting start, and viola! You can only get the blend to a firm place, not a hard place, because the paddle won't turn, and you won't be able to pull the container from the machine. It has to be soft ice cream to get it off the paddle etc. The best defense is to choose your recipes wisely. I prefer Alton Brown's recipes to the ones in the manual, especially with the chocolate, your choice of cocoa powder brands will make a big impact on flavor. It has given me a lot of enjoyment, and the friends always want to know what's for dessert.
Date published: 2011-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Probably best that is available We chose this ice cream maker because it did not require pre-freezing the canister in the freezer before using it. The first one arrived damaged and would not turn on at all. It was a bit of a hassle returning it and getting a replacement. We got caught between the manufacturer and seller, but eventually were sent a replacement one (even before we returned the first, actually). It does what it is supposed to do, but after one or two uses, the timer is completely off. We compare real time elapsed to the time shown on the timer, and the timer is much slower. Doesn't adversely affect the freezing, just means you have to watch the progress manually and not rely on the timer. It is also much, much heavier than we expected. This all being said, we are very happy with the end product. We've made ice cream, frozen yogurt and fruit sorbet and are looking forward to experimenting with other flavors and combinations.
Date published: 2012-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 99% Wonderful This replaced a different machine I owned for years. The new one works well, produces great ice cream, and is easy to clean. I would highly recommend it. MINOR drawbacks: o Like all of this type of ice cream machine it's a bit noisy. o This model has a built in timer that personally I find annoying. The built-in timer does not turn the machine off -- it just beeps when the time is up. It's hard to disengage (at least for my feeble brain) and I already own a watch, a kitchen timer, a timer on my phone... o While the parts are easy to clean, they are NOT dishwasher safe, and since I am a lazy bum this is a mild annoyance. o There is a slot provided so you can add ingredients during the mixing process (nuts? cookie pieces? fudge?) but the slot is far too small for this. You really need to turn off the machine and lift up the lid to add stuff, which fortunately is easily done. o Like all of this sort of machine it is large and heavy. It's either going to take up a lot of room on your counter, or you're going to have to lug it back and forth. Hey, that's a small price to pay for great homemade ice cream! Again, all small items -- I STILL highly recommend this machine.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Whynter Sno icecream machine I purchased the ice cream machine in May of 2013 and put it to use immediately. The motor was very noisy, but I figured it was normal. I really enjoyed the machine until the other night when I tried to make a run of ice cream but after a solid hour, it was still not frozen. The inside where the container sits, was not even cold. I have been in contact with the manufacture but they are giving me the run around by telling me to make sure the mixture is cold and to fill the container with water and turn the machine on to see if ice crystals are freezing around the edges. I have been using this machine for 3 months and I believe I know that the mixture needs to be cold. No, the water is not forming ice around the edges. I'm about to blow my top with them. All I want, is to have an address where I can send the machine so they can check it out and send me a replacement. So in other words, I am not happy with this product. I would not recommend it especially after I found out it is manufactured in China!
Date published: 2013-08-29

Buy the Whynter IC-2L in Stainless Steel at Build.com. Research Whynter IC-2L in Stainless Steel online. Find Whynter IC-2L in Stainless Steel features and specifications. Get the best deal by comparing the Whynter IC-2L in Stainless Steel today.

prod22014Fin
Recently viewed items
× Shipping Rates & Methods

The cost to ship items varies by item, shipment and shipping option.

Free Ground Shipping on Orders Over $49

Standard ground shipping transit time is 5-7 business days.

* This offer excludes deliveries made to Alaska and Hawaii.

Free Freight Shipping on Orders Over $1500

Curb side delivery (also called freight or "LTL" shipping) is reserved for large, heavy, or oversized items like chandeliers, bathtubs, shower doors, etc. Items are palletized and loaded onto a large truck for shipment, and delivered to your curb by scheduled appointment. Transit time is 7-10 business days.

* For exact shipping costs, add the product(s) to your cart and enter your zip code.

Learn more about shipping rates and policies